Councils & Chapters

The University of Connecticut Greek Community is comprised of several social fraternities and sororities. The organizations included on this page are currently recognized by the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life and are authorized to conduct activities, recruit students for membership, and utilize university resources and services. Please visit review the Statement on Unrecognized Groups for a list of other groups that may continue to exist within the community but are not connected with the university and operate unsanctioned.

The University of Connecticut actively supports the growth enhancing opportunity for student self-governance.  Primary authority for self-governance of fraternities and sororities rest with the four governing Greek councils:

Interfraternity Council (IFC)

IFC is the governing council for the men’s general fraternities. Many of the fraternity have or have held membership in the North-American Interfraternity Conference.

Organization Chapter President
Alpha Delta Phi Andrew Rossi
Alpha Epsilon Pi Ryan Trager
Alpha Kappa Lambda Will Murtagh
Alpha Sigma Phi Adam Mazzone
Beta Theta Pi Ryan Padden
Delta Tau Delta Michael Cruz
Phi Delta Theta Robert Rispoli
Phi Gamma Delta/FIJI Peter Rusconi
Pi Kappa Phi Thomas Jacobsen
Sigma Alpha Mu Matt Calbo
Sigma Phi Epsilon Ryan Jarnutowski
Zeta Beta Tau Adam Greene

Intercultural Greek Council (IGC)

IGC is the governing council for the culturally-based fraternities and sororities. Though IGC member organizations have a focus on cultural awareness, none are culturally exclusive.

Organization Chapter President
Delta Epsilon Psi Hermanpreet Sahani
Delta Phi Lambda Yutin Zhao
Delta Phi Omega Richa Jain
Kappa Phi Lambda Alex Garcia
Lambda Alpha Upsilon Juwan Rosa
Lambda Phi Epsilon
Lambda Theta Alpha Jomarys Morales
Lambda Theta Phi Alex Diaz
Lambda Upsilon Lambda Brandon Ortiz
Pi Delta Psi Yan Zhao
Sigma Lambda Upsilon (forming)
Theta Delta Sigma Allison Rosaci

National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC)

NPHC is a collaborative organization of nine historically African American, international Greek lettered fraternities and sororities, collectively referred to as the “Divine Nine.”

Organization Chapter President
Alpha Phi Alpha Keith Guerrant
Iota Phi Theta
Phi Beta Sigma Jordan Hatten
Sigma Gamma Rho Ciara Ward
Zeta Phi Beta Paris Pruitt

Panhellenic Council (UCPC)

The Panhellenic Council is the governing council for the national engineering sorority, and the general sororities/women’s fraternities that hold membership in the National Panhellenic Conference.

Organization Chapter President
Alpha Chi Omega Mariana Marchitto
Alpha Epsilon Phi Rebecca Palma
Alpha Omicron Pi Christa Kiedaisch
Alpha Phi Sonia Ferre
Delta Zeta Cassidy Brown
Gamma Phi Beta Abby Garfinkel
Kappa Alpha Theta Bianca Poehailos
Phi Sigma Rho Riley Blumenfield
Pi Beta Phi Taylor Muncy