Arête Awards

Each year, the Center for Fraternity and Sorority Development recognizes chapters and individual members of the community for their outstanding performance and positive contributions with the following awards:

Chapter Awards

Chapter awards are distributed based on self-nomination in conjunction with chapter’s performance with the chapter accreditation program for the previous year. Organizations that went unaccredited during the previous year are ineligible for chapter awards. Additionally, organizations that did not meet expectations in a particular category are ineligible for awards in that category.

  • Chapter of the Year
  • Most Improved Chapter
  • Excellence in Academic Achievement
  • Excellence in Chapter Operations
  • Excellence in Community Impact
  • Excellence in Diversity & Inclusion
  • Excellence in External Relations
  • Excellence in Leadership Development
  • Excellence in Member Development
  • Excellence in Recruitment & Retention
  • Excellence in Ritual & Values
  • Excellence in Wellness & Safety

Individual Awards

Members of the  community may submit nominations for these awards via the link below. Nominations will be judged by a team of UConn faculty, staff, and students.

  • Brittney L. Yancy Award (NPHC Woman of the Year)
  • Distinguished Member of the Year
  • Emerging Leader of the Year
  • Living the Ritual
  • Outstanding  Senior
  • Outstanding Scholar
  • Outstanding Volunteer
  • Outstanding Chapter President
  • Outstanding Council Officer
  • Outstanding Advisor
  • Outstanding Alumnus/a

In addition to these awards, councils may also present awards to recognize members of the council.

Award Winners (Past Recipients)